The Ego-Contained Leader

Pope Francis’ presence and dialogue during his visit to the United States serves as a stark contrast to the war of words we hear on television from those candidates who propose to LEAD our country.   Pope Francis represents a true servant of the people … all people. The presidential candidates we see monopolizing the airwaves seem to serve only themselves.

If one espouses to be a leader (of a team, an organization, or the United States), is there not a responsibility to wear the mantle of leadership? And should that mantle be decorated with scorn or respect?

Respect – unequivocally.  The ego-contained leader embodies respect – of others’ thoughts, words, and deeds. The ego-contained leader knows she is part of a bigger picture. The ego-contained leader is driven by:

  • mental briefcase - blog imageHumility – I am here to serve you. I am not better than you. You are no better than me. I exist with you.
  • Compassion – I care. I have a breadth of interests that expands to you and your health and happiness.
  • Interdependence – I care about hearing your thoughts and I speak my thoughts. I have no hidden agenda. I will listen to understand first, so I may better communicate with you through a shared perspective.

We have a responsibility to coexist, to do no harm, and to act according to the Golden Rule. Yes – we face challenges. But lowering our standards to the level of vitriol does not get us ahead.

To all who lead or aspire to lead, ask yourself:

[inlinetweet prefix=”” tweeter=”” suffix=””]What’s in my mental briefcase?[/inlinetweet]

girl staring in space blog image“If your ego starts out, ‘I am important, I am big, I am special,’ you’re in for some disappointments when you look around at what we’ve discovered about the universe. No, you’re not big. No, you’re not. You’re small in time and in space. And you have this frail vessel called the human body that’s limited on Earth.”

– Neil deGrasse Tyson

Looking forward to your thoughts!

